Durham will become the most visited host venue in OVO Energy Tour Series history this May, as the 2018 race will mark the ninth time that Britain’s best teams have competed in the famous city. 

Durham City is dominated by the world-famous Cathedral and Castle, a UNESCO World Heritage Site and a must visit during your stay. Don’t miss Open Treasure, Durham Cathedral’s new exhibition experience, or stay longer to discover more of the county’s treasures including England’s largest open air museum, Beamish – The Living Museum of the North.

And if you love the outdoors, the county provides plenty to get stuck into; seek out walking and cycling routes galore amongst the picture-perfect landscape of moors, hills, valleys and rivers in the Durham Dales and North Pennines – a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Don’t miss Hamsterley Forest – a magnet for mountain bikers with some of the best off-road cycling in the UK, and pack your camera for a visit to High Force – one of England’s most impressive waterfalls.

Take on the challenge of a long distance cycle route, including the C2C which passes through the Durham Dales, or the North Sea Cycle Route for breathtaking views of the Heritage Coast. And to test your walking stamina, the Pennine Way, Weardale Way and Teesdale Way offer incredible views of the Durham landscape.

To discover Durham’s great outdoors, and find more than 120 walking and cycling routes visit: thisisdurham.com/outdoors.