The Pearl Izumi Tour Series enters its sixth season of unique, team based racing in 2014. So who will succeed Team UK Youth as champions of Britain’s leading cycle race Series?

As the build up towards May’s opening round of The Pearl Izumi Tour Series in Stoke-on-Trent (Tuesday 13 May) continues, a week on from the launch of the 2014 Series we look back at the previous winners in this photospecial.

2009 Champions – Team Halfords Bikehut

Team Manager Keith Lambert with Rob Hayles following the final round in Southend.  Behind treble Series Champions Ian Wilkinson (far left), Andy Tennant (second right) and Ed Clancy (far right) enjoy their first Tour Series titles.

2010 Champions – Motorpoint Marshalls Pasta

A year on the leaders’ jerseys have changed to orange, but the winning manager is still the same.  Keith Lambert clutches the trophy following the final round in Woking, with Ed Clancy, Ian Bibby and Andy Tennant all securing their second Tour Series titles.

2011 Champions – Rapha Condor Sharp

After the final round at Canary Wharf, Rapha Condor Sharp were celebrating with team manager John Herety.  Far right is Ed Clancy, winning his third straight Tour Series title.

2012 Champions – Endura Racing

There was a third Tour Series title for Ian Bibby (third right) with Endura Racing in 2012, seen here celebrating following the final round double-header in Stoke-on-Trent with manager Julian Winn (fourth left).

2013 Champions – Team UK Youth

For the first year of Pearl Izumi’s sponsorship there were some natty red jerseys and victory for Team UK Youth, owned by 1992 Formula One World Champion Nigel Mansell and managed by David Povall.  Victory also meant a third title for Ian Wilkinson (not pictured).

2014 Champions – ???

The teams for 2014 have been announced, including two former Champions in Rapha Condor JLT and Velosure Giordana (nee Motorpoint Marshalls Pasta) and you can find the full list here.

Can either of the above become the first team to win the Series for a second time or could NFTO take a debut win?

Let us know your thoughts via our Facebook page or Twitter using @tourseries and the hashtag #tourseries.  

To help your thinking you can find some past Pearl Izumi Tour Series statistics here.