Worcestershire County Council and Redditch will play host to The Pearl Izumi Tour Series for a third time in 2014, as Britain’s leading racing cyclists arrive in the town on Tuesday 3rd June.

Redditch will host Round Seven of the 2014 Series, once again sponsored by Pearl Izumi, world leader's in technical cycling, triathlon, running and active outdoor wear.

The town has previously hosted Britain’s leading televised cycle race Series in both 2012 and 2013 as a part of Choose How You Move Redditch, a three-year project aimed to encourage locals to travel sustainably.

John Smith, Worcestershire County Council Cabinet member for responsibility for Highways, said: "With the government announcement that it wants to invest more money in making roads safer for cyclists, The Pearl Izumi Tour Series in Redditch inspires those who are thinking of taking up this activity. Worcestershire County Council welcomes the return of The Pearl Izumi Tour Series which is aligned with three out of four of our Corporate Plan objectives: to ensure Worcestershire is Open for Business; that our actions benefit the environment; and that we enable health and wellbeing."

The unique in cycling, team based format of The Pearl Izumi Tour Series pits Britain’s leading professional cycling teams against each other over an hour of action packed racing on a compact town centre circuit.

“We are delighted to return to Redditch after the success of the past two years and look forward to renewing our partnership with Worcestershire County Council and their Choose How You Move project,” said Race Director Mick Bennett.

In 2013 Team Raleigh’s Tom Scully took the individual honours in Redditch with a storming ride to lap the entire field, while Metaltek Knights of Old were the team winners, with their only victory in the Series to date.

The 2014 Pearl Izumi Tour Series, organised by SweetSpot Group, will begin on Tuesday 13 May, finishing five weeks later on Friday 13 June with a Grand Final on Jersey.

Further details of the Redditch event and the remaining venues for the 2014 Pearl Izumi Tour Series will be announced in the New Year at a National Launch for the Series.

Past winners of the competition are Team Halfords Bikehut (2009), Motorpoint Marshalls Pasta (2010), Rapha Condor Sharp (2011), Endura Racing (2012) and Team UK Youth (2013).