Wirral will host its first-ever OVO Energy Tour Series round on Tuesday, as Britain’s leading teams and riders head to Birkenhead for the fifth race meeting of the 2019 event.

Forming part of Wirral’s celebrations as Borough of Culture for the Liverpool City Region, the spectacular setting of Hamilton Square and a backdrop of Birkenhead Town Hall will no doubt see another intense night of racing as Brother UK – Tifosi p/b OnForm and Madison Genesis seek to maintain their series leads. 

Round five’s packed timetable also features this year’s Brother UK Corporate GP, which sees partners of the series going head-to-head in a bit to claim this year’s title. 

There’s more professional cycling coming to Wirral in 2019, too: the OVO Energy Tour of Britain will be heading there in September!

Birkenhead factfile

Birkenhead Tour Series

Year of first round 2019
Number of rounds hosted One (in 2019)
Circuit length 1.3km
Start/finish line Hamilton Square

Series start lists

Click here to download the men’s entry list (PDF) | Click here to download the women’s entry list (PDF) 

Did you know?

  • Merseyside last hosted an OVO Energy Tour Series round in 2010, when Alex Blain helped eventual runners-up Endura Racing to victory in Southport. 
  • Birkenhead hosts this year’s Brother UK Corporate Grand Prix. Last year’s winners were Wahoo, who triumphed in Redditch.
  • The setting for the round is Hamilton Square. Designed by Scottish architect James Gillespie Graham, the Georgian Square has the most Grade I listed buildings outside of London.

Round timetable

11:30 Activities start
13:00 Schools activities
15:15 Men’s support race (2/3/4)
16:15 Brother Corporate Grand Prix
17:30 Elite women’s race
18:15 Elite women’s podium ceremony
19:00 Elite men’s race
18:00 Thursday 23 May ITV4 highlights show

Series standings

Women’s team standings, post-round four

1) Brother UK – Tifosi p/b OnForm, 38pts

2) Team Breeze, 38pts

3) Campinense Velo Performance, 32pts

4) Jadan Weldtite Vive Le Velo, 26pts

5) Liv AWOL SPOK’D, 20pts

Eisberg sprints women’s standings, post-round four

1)  Jess Roberts, GBR, Team Breeze, 49pts

Men’s team standings, post-round four

1) Madison Genesis, 37pts

2) Canyon dhb p/b Bloor Homes, 36pts

3) Vitus Pro Cycling p/b Brother UK, 30pts

4) Saint Piran, 28pts

5) Ribble Pro Cycling, 28pts

Eisberg sprints men’s standings, post-round four

1)  Steve Lampier, GBR, Saint Piran, 35pts

Downloads and links

Click here to visit the Birkenhead hub page | Click here to visit our Birkenhead spectator guide