Round two of the 2019 OVO Energy Tour Series takes Britain’s leading teams and riders to Motherwell for the start of a Scottish doubleheader in this year’s event.

Now an established part of the series, the North Lanarkshire town boasts a circuit that has both differences – notably no technical corners – and similarities (a drag up to the start/finish line) compared to round one in Redditch

Can Brother UK – Tifosi p/b OnForm and Madison Genesis maintain their overall leads in the women’s and men’s series respectively in Motherwell? Will Anna Henderson – who is missing the round owing to university exams – and Redditch men’s individual winner Connor Swift keep hold of their Eisberg sprints jerseys? 

Home interest notably comes in the form of Katie Archibald and Neah Evans. The track specialists will ride for a Scottish national team guesting in this year’s rounds North of the Border. 

Attending round two in Motherwell on Tuesday? Click here to visit our spectator guide.

Motherwell factfile

Motherwell Tour Series circuit

Year of first round 2015
Number of rounds hosted Five (in 2019)
Circuit length 1.2km
Start/finish line Hamilton Road

Series startlists

Click here to download the men’s entry list (PDF) | Click here to download the women’s entry list (PDF) 

2018 highlights

2018 roll of honour

2018 winners (men) Madison Genesis
2018 winners (women) Team Breeze
2018 fastest lap (men) Emils Liepins (ONE Pro Cycling) – 1:33.398
2018 fastest lap (women) Beth Crumpton (Storey Racing) – 1:45.093

Did you know?

  • Just two seconds separated the top three teams on the night in 2018’s men’s race, as victors Madison Genesis pipped JLT Condor and Canyon Eisberg by the smallest three-way margin in series history. 
  • Motherwell has hosted four rounds of the women’s series to date, with the first three resulting in individual victories for Scottish riders: Katie Archibald (2015) and Eileen Roe (2016, 2017). Welsh rider Megan Barker triumphed 12 months ago.
  • Canyon Eisberg’s Rory Townsend holds the Strava KoM for the circuit (1:27), which averages to 48.6kph (30.2mph). Archibald has kept the women’s record since 2015, too, with a 1:41 lap (41.8kph/26mph).

Round timetable

12:00 Activities start
12:45 Schools activity
13:30 Under-14s/16s boys/girls support races
14:10 Women’s support race (E/1/2/3/4)
15:00 Men’s support race (2/3/4)
17:30 Elite women’s race
18:15 Elite women’s podium ceremony
19:00 Elite men’s race
18:00 Thursday 16 May  ITV4 highlights show

Downloads and links

Click here to visit the Motherwell hub page | Click here to visit our Motherwell spectator guide