The action and excitement of televised professional cycle racing returns to Redditch this June, as ‘Choose how you move’ sign up the town to host the return of The Tour Series.

Round Seven of the UK’s top cycle race Series hits Redditch on Tuesday 4th June bringing household names like Olympic Champion Ed Clancy (Rapha Condor JLT) and top Olympic track sprinter turned road racer Ross Edgar (Team IG Sigma Sport) to the town amongst the 50-rider field.

The Tour Series unique, team based format pits Britain’s leading professional cycling teams against each other over an hour of action packed racing on a compact town centre circuit.

Cllr John Smith OBE, Worcestershire County Council Cabinet Member for Highways and Transport, said: “It's great news that The Tour Series is returning to Redditch this year. The 2012 event was a huge success, both in terms of marking the launch of our three year 'Choose how you move' programme and in terms of the positive impact the cycle race has had on the Redditch economy. We'll be working hard alongside The Tour Series to try and ensure this year will be a similar, if not better event.”

Redditch proved to be one of the more testing venues in 2012, with the 1.4-kilometre circuit and the repeated climb of Unicorn Hill making for a tough race. Team UK Youth’s Niklas Gustavsson took the individual win in 2012 with Endura Racing claiming the all-important team honours on their way to the Series title.

“Last year was the first time we have visited Redditch, but the event was a great success with a first-class race and a great crowd,” said Series Race Director Mick Bennett.

“We are looking forward to returning and working with Worcestershire County Council to put on an even bigger event, and draw even more people along to watch.”

Highlights from the Redditch round of The Tour Series will be shown on ITV4 on the evening of Wednesday 5th June at 10pm.

The Tour Series celebrates its fifth season of competition in 2013. Past winners of the unique competition include Team Halfords Bikehut (2009), Motorpoint Marshalls Pasta (2010), Rapha Condor Sharp (2011) and Endura Racing (2012).