Canyon Eisberg and Team Breeze were crowned champions of the 2018 OVO Energy Tour Series as the unique team-based Series reached a thrilling climax amid packed crowds in the heart of Salisbury.

The Wiltshire city embraced the Grand Final of the OVO Energy Tour Series with crowds lining the 1.2 kilometre circuit to cheer on the men’s and women’s fields as both Series titles came down to the final round.

The enthusiastic support was rewarded with individual wins for Ed Clancy and Nikki Juniper, as both series team leaders held on to their five OVO Energy Green Jersey, despite strong challenges to their authority.

Canyon Eisberg took the win on the night, with challengers Madison Genesis coming second to miss out on the title by two points.  The win was made especially emotional by previous Tour Series champion Chris Opie announcing his retirement before the racing, before helping his team to the title, his third series crown.

In the women’s OVO Energy Tour Series, Team Breeze clinched the title by three points from Storey Racing who took the win in Salisbury on the night.

A seven-rider group contested the finish, with Nikki Juniper (NJC-Biemme-Echeleon) taking the win to add to victories in Aberdeen and Durham during the 2018 Series, heading home Jess Roberts (Team Breeze) and Ejay Harris (Storey Racing).  With Harris’ team-mates Neah Evans and Rebecca Durrell in the front selection, the win went the way of Storey, putting them second overall, with NJC-Biemme-Echelon a further point in arrears.

Juniper also took the Eisberg Points jersey, while the final Brother Fastest Lap went the way of Jess Roberts.

Despite not racing in Salisbury, JLT Condor’s Matt Gibson kept hold of the men’s Eisberg Points Jersey, although Harry Tanfield did close the gap to a solitary point during the race, while Wembley Park winner Tom Pidcock took the final Brother Fastest Lap of the 2018 OVO Energy Tour Series.

The Team WIGGINS youngster took second in the race behind Clancy, with Opie in third, while Tanfield and McEvoy completed the final top five.

For full results from the men and women’s races and final overall standings, click here.

Highlights of the women’s race from Salisbury will be on ITV4 at 23:00 on Monday 4 June at 23:00 (with a repeat the following morning, Tuesday 5 June, at 08:20) while highlights of the men’s event will be shown in a separate programme at 23:00 on Tuesday 5 June, with a repeat at 07:15 on Wednesday 6 June.

Highlights from every round of the 2018 OVO Energy Tour Series are also available on demand via the ITV Hub catch-up service.