Great Britain’s Matthew Gibson took a stylish win with a last lap attack in Peterborough, but it was the riders of Rapha Condor JLT who took the team win and extended their Series lead.

Gibson attacked at the bell from a four-rider breakaway group to win alone in Peterborough city centre, with Adam Blythe coming in second, ahead of Graham Briggs and Mike Northey.

With Felix English and Ed Clancy leading in the bunch for fifth and sixth, Rapha Condor JLT took their second win of the 2014 Series to move into a three point lead at the top of the standings.

Madison Genesis, who placed four in the top ten, took a close second to remain in runners up spot in The Pearl Izumi Tour Series.

English’s last lap dash to the line also gave him the evening’s Costa Express Fastest Lap, just surpassing Gibson’s final lap, which had looked set to give him the Costa Express trophy.

Gibson, Blythe, Briggs and Northey had gone clear midway through the hour long race on The Pearl Izumi Tour Series and worked well together, building and maintaining a lead of over 30-seconds on the peloton.

Then with the bell ringing to herald the last lap Gibson jumped clear and instantly built an unbridgeable margin, which held all the way around the 1.1-kilometre lap.

Behind the celebrating Great Britain rider Adam Blythe crossed the line alone for his best Pearl Izumi Tour Series individual result to date, with Briggs and Northey crossing the line by themselves.

Kiwi Champion Northey actually took third on the road, but was relegated behind Briggs by commissaires after the two clashed in the final corner.

Behind clear the clear 1-2, NFTO took third to keep them in the Pearl Izumi Tour Series title hunt, while Great Britain could only come sixth, despite taking the individual win.

NFTO also kept hold of the Sprints jersey thanks to Jon Mould, who earned enough points to keep him six points clear of Briggs, with Northey winning the evening’s sprint prize in Peterborough.

Highlights of Round Three from Peterborough are shown on ITV4 at 8pm on Wednesday 21st May, with a repeat at 9.55am on Thursday 22nd May.

Round Four sees the Series make its annual trip to Wales for the Aberystwyth round on Friday 23rd May to open the weekend’s Aber Cycle Festival, which includes a downhill mountain bike race and the Welsh Wild West sportive.

The Pearl Izumi Tour Series
Tuesday 20 May 2014, Peterborough

Round Three Team Result
1) Rapha Condor JLT
2) Madison Genesis
3) NFTO Pro Cycling
4) Team Raleigh
5) Starley Primal Pro Cycling
6) Great Britain
7) Metaltek Kuota
8) Node4 Velosure
9) Pedal Heaven Colbornes

Round Three Individual Result
1) Matthew Gibson, GBR, Great Britain
2) Adam Blythe, GBR, NFTO Pro Cycling
3) Graham Briggs, GBR, Rapha Condor JLT
4) Mike Northey, NZL, Madison Genesis
5) Felix English, IRL, Rapha Condor JLT
6) Ed Clancy, GBR, Rapha Condor JLT
7) Tobyn Horton, GBR, Madison Genesis
8) Tom Scully, NZL, Madison Genesis
9) Tom Stewart, GBR, Madison Genesis
10) Yanto Barker, GBR, Team Raleigh

Round Three Costa Express Fastest Lap: Felix English, IRL Costa Express, 1'17.884
Round Three Sprint Winner: Mike Northey, NZL, Madison Genesis

Overall Team Standings, post-Round Three
1) Rapha Condor JLT, 42pts
2) Madison Genesis, 39pts
3) NFTO Pro Cycling, 33pts
4) Team Raleigh, 28pts
5) Great Britain, 23pts
6) Node4 Velosure, 22pts
7) Metaltek Kuota, 18pts
8) Starley Primal, 15pts
9) Pedal Heaven Colbornes, 8pts

Overall Sprint Standings, post-Round Three
1) Jon Mould, GBR, NFTO Pro Cycling, 25pts
2) Graham Briggs, GBR, Rapha Condor JLT, 19pts
3) Mike Northey, NZL, Madison Genesis, 14pts