The eight squads that will contest this year’s Pearl Izumi Tour Series, Britain’s unique team-based cycle race Series, were been unveiled at Madison’s iceBike Show yesterday (Thursday 27th February).

Riders from six of the eight teams who will contents the full Series were present at the trade show to help to officially launch the 2014 Series, the sixth season of televised, team based racing in Britain’s town and city centres.

Two previous Tour Series Champions in Rapha Condor JLT and Velosure Giordana lead the way, with Felix English and Steve Lampier respectively in attendance at iceBike. The UK’s three other UCI Continental registered teams, Madison Genesis (represented by Liam Holohan), Team Raleigh (represented by Liam Stones) and NFTO Pro Cycling will also join them in the Series, the latter of whom will make their full Series debuts at Round One in Stoke-on-Trent, and brought former UCI World Tour rider Adam Blythe to confirm their participation.

Also making their full Pearl Izumi Tour Series will be Fleet-based Pedal Heaven Colbornes, who step up having raced as a guest team in previous seasons, with Lewis Atkins representing the team at the launch.

Left to right, Felix English (Rapha Condor JLT), Adam Blythe (NFTO), Lewis Atkins (Pedal Heaven Colbornes), Mick Bennett (Race Director), Steve Lampier (Velosure Giordana), Liam Stones (Team Raleigh) and Liam Holohan (Madison Genesis) with the new Pearl Izumi Tour Series jersey.

Having made their debut in 2013, Starley Primal return with a new look and an expanded line-up, while Series stalwarts Metaltek Cycling return having won their first ever round last year, and with David Povall, the man behind Team UK Youth’s 2013 success at the helm.

The full list of teams for the full season is as follows:

  • Madison Genesis
  • Metaltek Cycling
  • NFTO Pro Cycling
  • Pedal Heaven Colbornes RT
  • Rapha Condor JLT
  • Starley Primal Pro Cycling
  • Team Raleigh
  • Velosure Giordana

Each team will field five riders from their pre-nominated ten rider squads, with the Series retaining the successful format that bases a team’s result on their first three riders to cross the line.

Details of guest teams who will take part in selected rounds of the 2014 Pearl Izumi Tour Series will be announced in the coming weeks.

Past winners of The Pearl Izumi Tour Series are Team Halfords Bikehut (2009), Motorpoint Marshalls Pasta (2010), Rapha Condor Sharp (2011), Endura Racing (2012) and Team UK Youth (2013).

For the full list of venues for 2014 click here.

Don’t forget to sign-up for the official Pearl Izumi Tour Series sportive on Saturday 14 June as a part of the Jersey Festival of Cycling, with entries available here.