There are just two weeks remaining in the poll to find the inaugural winner of the SweetSpot Cycling Book of the Year Award, with twelve top cycling titles from 2013 shortlisted in the public vote.

SweetSpot, organisers of The Tour of Britain and creators of The Pearl Izumi Tour Series, have launched a new annual poll, with over 700 people having already voted for their choice.

Twelve books are shortlisted, including the latest title from ITV4’s presenter of Tour of Britain and Pearl Izumi Tour Series coverage Ned Boulting, and autobiographies of Charlie Wegelius, Rob Hayles, Sean Kelly and Sean Yates.

Daniel Friebe and Pete Goding’s second volume of cycling climbs, Mountain Higher, and Collins’ history of the Tour de France through maps, Mapping Le Tour, both feature as coffee-table style publications.

Two anthologies also make the list, the first a collection of William Fotheringham’s writing for The Guardian over the past 20-years, the latter the second volume of the Cycling Anthology project of Lionel Birnie and Ellis Bacon, which collects together essays from a number of renown cycling writers.

Rounding out the selection are Project Rainbow, in which Rod Ellingworth tells the story of the road to Mark Cavendish’s World Championship success, Tim Lewis’ book on the rise of Rwanda’s cycling team and Edward Pickering’s tale of the 1990’s battle for the hour record between Chris Boardman and Graeme Obree.

The books were shortlisted by Brendan Gallagher along with SweetSpot Group management.

“We are delighted at the response to our new Cycling Book of the Year Award and hope that it is something that can grow in stature in future years,” said SweetSpot Commercial Director Alastair Grant.

“The Award recognises the first-class range of cycling titles written annually and provides SweetSpot Group with a chance to give something back to the many journalists, writers and photographers who have offered us so much support over the years.”

Everyone who votes in the SweetSpot Cycling Book of the Year Award goes into a draw to win copies of all 12 shortlisted titles, with the voting closing on Friday 20th December.

The winning book will be announced in the New Year, with the author receiving the first ever SweetSpot Cycling Book of the Year trophy, and prizes from Tour partners, including a Festina watch and a magnum of Heidsieck Monopole champagne.

For more details, and to vote, please visit where you can vote, and also find out a little more about each book by clicking on the link to read Brendan Gallagher's short summary.

2013 SweetSpot Cycling Book of the Year shortlist

• On the Road Bike: The Search For a Nation's Cycling Soul. Ned Boulting. Yellow Jersey.
• Racing Hard, 20 Tumultuous Years in Cycling. William Fotheringham. Faber and Faber.
• Cycling Anthology II, Tour de France centenary edition. Lionel Birnie and Ellis Bacon. Peloton Publishing.
• Easy Rider: My Life on a Bike. Rob Hayles. Bantam Press.
• Domestique. The True life Ups and Downs of a Tour Pro. Charlie Wegelius. Ebury Press.
• Hunger. Sean Kelly. Peloton Publishing.
• Mountain Higher: Europe's Extreme, Undiscovered and Unforgettable Cycling Climbs. Daniel Friebe and Pete Goding. Quercus.
• Sean Yates: It's All About the Bike. Sean Yates. Bantam Press.
• The Race Against Time: Obree, Boardman and the Quest to be the Fastest Man on Two Wheels. Edward Pickering. Bantam Press.
• Project Rainbow: How British Cycling Reached the Top of the World. Rod Ellingworth. Faber and Faber.
• Mapping Le Tour de France. Ellis Bacon. Collins.
• Land of Second Chances: The Impossible Rise of Rwanda's Cycling Team. Tim Lewis. Yellow Jersey