Last year SweetSpot held the first ever Cycling Book of the Year awards, keen to acknowledge the contribution of cycling’s authors and the publishers who support the sport.

A shortlist of 12 cycling books from 2013 was compiled by writer Brendan Gallagher and SweetSpot and set live for members of the public to vote for the book that they felt was the most deserving winner. The award was a resounding success, with around 1000 voters taking part to back their favourite title.

Anyone who took part in the voting was automatically entered in to a competition to win the ultimate 2013 cycling book hamper containing all 12 of the shortlisted titles. Also up for grabs for three runners up are copies of the winning book.

SweetSpot are pleased to announce the winners of the voters competition, with the winning author and book being announced at the end of the week.

The overall voters winner and now the owner of the ultimate 2013 cycling book hamper, is Rachel Stickler from London, congratulations Rachel the book hamper is on its way to you! The three runners up prizes, a copy each of the winning book, have been won by Niamh Mulvey from London, Paul Webster from Norwich and finally Simon Richardson from Cambridgeshire. Congratulations to you all, your prizes are on their way.

We will be announcing the winning author later in the week on Twitter so make sure you follow us and our events:

The Tour of Britain: @TourofBritain
The Tour Ride: @thetourride
The Women’s Tour: @thewomenstour
The Tour Series: @TourSeries
Xcalibre: @Xcalibremtb



Entries for SweetSpot’s new mountain bike event, XCALIBRE – Britain’s ultimate off-road Tour – are now open, with two-rider teams able to sign-up for the unique off-road event between 16th and 23rd August. For more information visit